Our Faith

You are invited!
Our faith
Our history
Our bishops
Our parishes
Your questions
Contact us


The Fall of Man (Adam and Eve)
Mary, the New Eve
The Annunciation (the Conception of Our Lord)
The Nativity of Jesus
The earthly ministry of Jesus Christ
The Passion of Our Lord
The Crucifixion and Death of Our Lord
Jesus Christ is Risen!

The Holy Cross Old Catholic Diocese of Minnesota was founded to establish and support Ecumenical Catholic Communities in North Dakota, South Dakota, Eastern Half of Nebraska, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Wisconsin, the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, and Illinois.


Our mission

"Go therefore and make disciples
of all the nations, baptizing them
in the name of the Father and of 
the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 
teaching them to observe all 
things that I have commanded you..."

Matthew 28:19-20

The mission of the Holy Cross Old Catholic Diocese, and of the entire Old Catholic Church, is rooted in the gospel of Jesus Christ. 

The Church strives to provide an affirming, evangelical, and sacramental presence to all in their diversity; and therefore, we are called to ministries that are loving, inclusive, and justice bearing. 

We join with other Ecumenical Catholic Churches in accomplishing this mission.


What is "Old Catholicism"?

We know from history that the Church founded by Our Lord Jesus Christ was united for a thousand years. 

Today, however, the Catholic Church is comprised of five sister congregations: 

Roman Catholic

Old Catholic

Anglican Catholic / Episcopalian

Eastern Catholic (or Eastern Orthodox)

Oriental (Coptic, Syrian, Nestorian)

These sister churches, together relating to each other in love, hold that through baptism, celebrated in our churches according to the faith handed down to us from the Apostles, we are each made members of the one Mystical Body of Christ.

For the most part, the sister churches interpret God's plan of salvation essentially the same. But like all sisters in a family, there are differences: mostly administrative and disciplinary, and some theological.

Certain differences are expected and accepted. Nevertheless, each of the five churches is united with all or most of its sisters through the closest bonds, that is, by Apostolic Succession and a valid, mutually recognized Eucharist

In essentials, unity.
In non-essentials, liberty.
In all things, love.

St. Augustine

The Old Catholic Church recognizes the clergy and Eucharist of all four of its sisters.  Its own are recognized by all.

The Tradition of the Old Catholic Church comes from Scripture, the Ecumenical Councils of the early, undivided Church, and the teachings of the early Church Fathers and of all saints, inspired by the Holy Spirit, from our Lordís time on earth to the present. 

The Old Catholic Church, collectively and through its bishops, looks to the Holy Spirit for guidance and not to any one man.

Pentecost (the coming of the Holy Spirit)


May they all be one

"Holy Father, keep through Your name those whom You have given Me, that they may be one as We are."
John 17:11


Our ecumenical nature

"By this all will know that you
are My disciples, if you have 
love for one another."

John 13:35

As an ecumenical community, the Heartland Old Catholic Church welcomes the prophetic work of fostering unity while celebrating the various faith traditions among Christians in accord with Jesus' prayer ...THAT WE ALL MAY BE ONE. 

We recognize the baptism and faith of all our Christian brothers and sisters. By virtue of our common baptism, a real unity already exists in Christ's church. 

All baptized Christians are invited to participate in the worship and sacramental life of our ecumenical Catholic communities.

"I am the way..."


The Church as nourisher

"I am the way, the truth, and the life. 
No one comes to the Father 
except through Me."
John 14:6

It is paramount to our faith that we develop a personal relationship with our Lord, not simply a theoretical or intellectual understanding. The Church is our primary dispenser of nourishment for that relationship.

The Church, referred to in Holy Scripture as "the Kingdom of God" and the "Body of Christ," was founded by Christ who is its only head and high priest. The Church exists for the glory of God. This is achieved by: 

Preaching the good news of salvation

Caring for the troubled and needy

Training teachers

Calling the faithful to worship and prayer

Administering the sacraments

Forgiving sins

Regular celebration of the Holy Eucharist

Perpetual contemplation of the way to eternal life

Jesus, the Bread of Life

The Eucharistic Sacrifice

Our worship

"For where two or three
are gathered together 
in My name, I am there
in the midst of them."

Matthew 18:20

The Liturgy (The Mass) is our supreme act of communal worship. It was given its form by the Apostles, and continued by the universal Church. 

From the earliest beginnings of the Christian Church there were variations in the manner in which the Eucharist was celebrated in the regional churches.  Within these churches, with their mixed populations and differing historical development, local traditions, cultures and languages, it was inevitable that a large number of different types of Eucharistic prayers should emerge.

The unity of the Church of Christ and the unity of the Eucharistic Sacrifice did not require uniformity in the celebration of that Sacrifice. Accordingly, the Heartland Old Catholic Church enables congregations under the direction of their pastor and bishop to select the liturgy best suited to their needs from those authorized for use in its churches.

Holy Communion
Holy Anointing
Holy Orders


The Sacraments

The Church confesses Seven Sacraments. 

We recognize Sacraments as very holy creations; some instituted by Christ during His public life, and others instituted later by His church. The Sacraments are necessary for salvation in all places where they can be had. 

Heartland accepts the responsibility in ensuring that the children of God study and are taught the teachings of the Bible and are fed and strengthened by the Sacraments.

Points of marriage theology:

Marriage is a sacrament whose purpose is the spiritual and physical nurturing of husband and wife. While the marital union has many benefits for society, it is not subservient to anything beyond the couple and their relationship to God.

In marriage the spouses are equal to each other and are equally subordinate to the "us" of the marital union.

Marriage & divorce

Divorce is not the unforgivable sin. The Church recognizes the reality of divorce and will not withhold the Eucharist. The Church can also permit remarriage.

Abortion is opposed, but family planning and birth control are left to the judgment and conscience of the married couple. 

Clerical celibacy is optional. Most Old Catholic priests are married and have children, as is true for most Eastern Orthodox and Anglican/Episcopalian priests.


Holy Cross Old Catholic Diocese of Minnesota
The Old Catholic Church, Province of the United States

The Right Reverend
James R. Judd, Secretary, Heartland College of Bishops
St. Ignatius Center - 1624 Luella Street North, Saint Paul, MN 55119-3017
Telephone (651) 776-3172

To locate the parish nearest you, click here.

Scripture taken from the New King James Version. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson, Inc. Used by Permission. All rights reserved. Original text and certain graphics © 2003 The Heartland Old Catholic Church.  All rights reserved.  Maps © 2003 Microsoft Corporation. Certain graphics © 2003 Riverdeep Interactive Learning Limited, and its licensors. All rights reserved.  Certain graphics © 2003 Hemera Technologies, and its licensors.  All rights reserved.